Be happy

I just finished watching the incredibly sad movie “The Pursuit of Happyness”. I know it is meant to be an uplifting story about a man who brings himself and his son through homelessness to prosperity, but most of the movie is … well… sad. Well acted and a great script and direction, to be sure, but it was emotional to watch.

The movie really sent one important point home to me, though now I’m not sure if the movie really says this or if it is what I took from it, abundance is a state of mind. Happiness is a state of mind, not a set of conditions to be fulfilled. The struggle and stress of living in poverty is one thing, but there is a huge difference between living in hope and living in despair. The difference between hope and despair has little to do with what is or has happened, it is all the perspective.

I am also struck with how fortunate most people are, and how little they are aware of the goodness all around them. I am immensely grateful for my abundance, not just monetarily, but also in education, and friendships, and family, and a loving partnership and a healthy happy son, and a safe dry roof over my head as it trickles rain outside. It reminds me of a bumper sticker I saw the other day “Get Rich Quick! Count your Blessings!”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dimitiekendall
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 04:48:13

    Absolutely brilliant! Thanks a great reminder xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

