Feng Shui for the Soul

Several years ago on a dreamy trip to Portland, Oregon, I picked up a copy of Denise Linn’s “Feng Shui for the Soul” from the world’s best bookstore, Powell’s. This book has been on my ‘to read’ pile until today. I don’t normally write about books I haven’t finished, but even a few pages into the book I have received such tremendous benefit, I just had to share.

I have several Feng Shui books already, which describe the art of placement of objects in the home to enhance energy. It is a fascinating topic and I have at times tried to arrange my surroundings to match the detailed suggestions in the books. But life intervenes, as it tends to do, and my home quickly resumes it’s status as a messy work in progress.

I can honestly say that Denise Linn’s book is quite different from others I have read on this topic. Rather than setting out complicated charts and set rules to follow, she encourages you to tune into the energy within your home and the objects inside it. With a few basic tools you can powerfully transform the energy in your home. I know because I did a clutter-clearing of every room in my house today. It felt great. Of course there is more to do and more clutter to release or organize, but I was amazed at how easy it was and how much better the place looks and feels in a relatively short amount of time.

I used a pendulum to test the energy of each room or corner, as recommended in the book, and just took care of the obvious things that needed straightening or tossing. The energy shifted every time I moved something, even if I didn’t clean the area completely. This is a new concept for me, that clutter clearing could easily be done in stages without any unfinished energy in the home. When I have cleared clutter before it had always been a big production, with boxes and recycling piles and bags of half sorted things everywhere. The place always looked worse before it got better. This step is completely unnecessary. By tuning into the energy of the space, a tiny little bit of work can make a huge difference.

Mostly, what I love about this book is the humility and honesty of Denise Linn. There is no judgement for having a messy house. I felt so calm during the whole process and even more so knowing that I can tackle little parts of it at a time and still have a big effect. I think clearing out stuff is a continual process that is a necessary part of having a home, this is the first time it has been easy. I highly recommend this valuable book. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa Cashiola
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 17:51:49

    It is one of my favorite feng shui books too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

