In the gaze of angels

Roe deer with yellow flowers 3c

Roe deer with yellow flowers 3c (Photo credit: Dluogs)

I am held
In the gaze of angels
Two strong women
Two strong men

No wait.
There are more.
Cousins, greatgrands… Ancestors.

My ancestry, they watch over me.
Waiting for me
To ask for their help.

My aunt Roe,
She was a feisty one.
She got things done.
I don’t pray to God, I pray to Roe.
She still gets things done.

My uncle Mike,
He had a good time.
He knew
Which ones to trust
And which ones to toss.
He helps me with the math.
He still has a good time.

And my Grandma,
She loved and listened.
She helps me keep my yap shut.
And know what to say when no words will help.
She still listens.

And Alice and Cliff,
They help me in my garden.
Anne,
She still writes and tells me to travel.

And… And… And… So many more.

All of them.
Still here but not here.
Just like me.

I am more than just here.
There is more here than meets the eye.
And when your eyes no longer see me.
I will be here still,
Holding you in my gaze.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsey
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 12:35:31

    I should know better than to read your posts at work! Beautiful! :’)

    Reply

  2. dimitiekendall
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 21:44:05

    A beautiful poem! Thank you for posting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

