Springtime

I’m solar powered. Now, I love winter. I love the snow and cold, seriously I do, but sunshine is pure magic. My mood turns on a dime when the sun comes out. Perhaps that is why I am not fazed by winter; I can manage almost any temperature as long as the sun is shining.

I adore places like Vancouver Island and Portland, Oregon. But I don’t think I could ever live there, at least not in the winter. I have been lucky to have grown up in one of the sunniest cities in Canada, Calgary. The number of sunlit minutes in a year is a huge plus to living here. Sure, the weather is chaotic, and it can get mighty cold, but the sun… the sun lives here.

I am still patiently waiting for the sun shining on my hammock to get warm enough to keep me there for more than 5 minutes. Eventually it will get warm and I’ll be driven inside seeking shade. But for now, spring is here. And I love it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yogaleigh
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 02:28:28

    I’m with you. I lived in both Portland and Seattle and I whined about the weather the whole time. Even in freezing Chicago the sun shines in winter! I think my favorite climate among those I’ve lived in was California…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

