His Laugh

When I close my eyes
and open my ears,
I hear a rumbling, deep
soul-shaking, earth-quaking…
Laugh.

I hear his laugh.

That laugh…

I imagine that laugh
starts below his feet and
rumbles up
and out
and Smacks the walls and furniture awake,
so that the whole room
Stops
and asks…

What

was

so funny?

And I imagine that
when he was a little baby,
God whispered in his ear
the perfect, juiciest, raunchiest joke
delivered with perfect timing.

And I imagine that little baby
spent his whole life
searching for the juiciest, raunchiest joke
to deliver with perfect timing for you,
so that you might have one, perfect laugh too.

That laugh…

I know this is a lot to take…

to take in…

But,
won’t you
“take me out to the ball game.”

This game, this old game
we are all living,
This game has Rules.

And if you will open your rulebook
to page five and paragraph three,
You will clearly see,
that Life is not scored by the years that were lived,
but by the love that was shared
and the laughs that were had.

That laugh…

So when I close my eyes and
open
my ears.

I hear his laugh.

And I know
that if you close your eyes and
open
your ears,

You can hear it too.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsey
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 06:42:27

    Brilliant, Geneva! :’)

    Reply

  2. V
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 10:37:10

    I hear that perfect laugh. v

    Reply

  3. Dave Marusiak
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 23:18:34

    I think I have read this every day since you wrote it…Thank you so much it is wonderful…. you nailed it Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

