Holiday Mode

Ok, I admit it. My brain is still on holiday. I realized that I had not switched the draft stamp off on my last post. Plus, I am writing these posts later and later each night. But it all works out, since I have gotten a bunch of other creative projects finished, and launched a few more new ones over my days off. It seems, like most things, writing comes in cycles. I am learning more and more these days to follow my natural cycles with all of my creative interests. There is writing, yes, but also knitting, jewelry making, yoga, meditation, learning languages, researching healing techniques, studying crystal properties… It is a long list… Oh and also clarinet and guitar practice.

I have more passions than time.

At one point, this overflow of ideas used to make me feel woefully inadequate, either because I couldn’t find the time to start all my projects, or because I have started so many with great enthusiasm only to run out of interest before it was finished. Having a bunch of half finished projects tucked in every corner of the house can be a drag, but only if I see these projects as needing finishing in order to be satisfying.

I have to credit SARK with this new found appreciation for all my great ideas that fizzled. I just finished (harharhar) her book “Make your creative dreams real”. What a gem for encouraging you to shake off the inner critic and truly embrace all stages of a creative project.

After having recently finished a sweater that I had started two (maybe three) years ago, I had the huge realization that guilt is not required to finish a project. A good idea, conceived in a whirlwind rush of energy, will still be a good idea in a week, a month, or even years later. It is nice to finish things, but that is not always required on every project. Sometimes the practice is what is needed, or the dreaming, or the fixing of something not quite right. We can learn the process of creation only by creating.

It reminds me of the Picasso museum in Barcelona, which contains most of his early works. You can see the progression of his paintings as he was experimenting with his emerging style. He would take a single painting and paint it over and over hundreds of times, changing only minor details each time. By the end, the final painting was considerably different from the original. The process was crucial to the end result. If Picasso had seen those early attempts as failures, then he might have chucked painting altogether. Each try, each step, brings enormous learning potential and should be cherished as important evidence of progress.

So this post, that started out as an apology for a series of short posts, has turned into a longish one, full of juicy ideas. I love how this creative stuff works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

