The benefits of water – Two weeks in

Fun With Water Drops - 6

Image by Cayusa via Flickr

Two weeks ago, I wrote about the benefits of drinking enough water spaced throughout the day. I am amazed at the results so far so I wanted to share an update of what I have experienced. Firstly, it has just been a bit over three weeks of drinking water whenever my alarm rings on my phone. The transition to this new habit was pretty easy, though I definitely needed by phone to remind me. I noticed I was pretty good about drinking water when I was at home, but when I went out I realized that I would usually go for long stretches of the day with no water at all.

The first week was interesting since I felt like I was a sponge; I just couldn’t get enough water. It was interesting to me that the more water I drank, the more water I wanted. Somehow I thought it would be the opposite. I noticed my weight go up a bit on the scale and I felt like my tissues were swelling. Not in an unpleasant way, more like a dried up bean soaking up the water it needs to sprout new life.

I have more energy since drinking water regularly. Mornings have never been my thing, but I feel an ease getting out of bed that reminds me of when I was a little kid. There are some mornings where I wake up groggy or anxious about the day, but I’m finding that after a good glass or two of water my tiredness and hesitation fades away. I also notice that my slow mornings usually are after days of not drinking water often enough. Who knew? Water could make me a morning person! šŸ™‚

I notice that my skin is radiant, soft and less wrinkly. My  lips, usually screaming for chapstick by this point in the winter, are fine. They are moistened from the inside. It seems to me that dry lips is an indicator of my need for more water. I also have lost a few pounds and feel an increased energy overall. I don’t dread working out or drag myself in front of the Kinect. I just show up.

Overall, I feel … softer, more relaxed, but also more energy too. The hectic edge of city life seems to have softened to the ebb and flow of a more natural existence. I notice the corners of my lips are different. When I look in the mirror, they curve up. I notice my patience growing, especially when dealing with tantrums from my three year old. I seem to be having fewer of my own internal tantrums when I bump up against an obstacle.

And lastly, what I notice, which is nothing short of a miracle, is the disappearance of cold symptoms with water alone. I was starting to get a runny nose and I drank a litre or two of water and went to bed early. By morning, I was fine. Then tonight again, I felt my nose going again, and again, it went away after a few glasses of water. Astounding!

All this from regular water intake, just drinking to my comfort level about 6 or 7 times a day. Sold!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. virtuos and beautiful
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 23:04:33

    Water is so good for you! It is nice to be able to drink nothingness as it has no calories or vitamins because it cleans you up.

    Reply

  2. Kelsey
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 06:56:31

    That is awesome to hear! How exciting! I’m going to try putting an alarm on my phone again, only this time, to make it seem more irresistible, I’m going to call it “Nectar of the Goddess.”
    šŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

